Southwestern Black Bean Pizza

IMG_20141029_200724474

I often go traipsing through the internet searching for additional recipes. Sometimes it’s just a blind craving search, other times I find myself needing to use a particular pantry item. In this case, I bought some Chipotle Peppers in Adobo sauce. Why would I ever buy that? Because a while ago I found an awesome recipe that called for it. I happened to see it at the store. I got home and I couldn’t find the recipe anywhere! Raar! So I searched the web for a recipe that uses this crazy ingredient.

Sometimes a recipe will call to me, whisper sweet nothings, suggest in no uncertain terms that it will because a family favorite. Southwestern Pizza with Black Beans and Corn was one such recipe. I was skeptical to say the least. The ingredient list was suspicious.

I read it to my hubby, who gave his now token statement, “I don’t know, but we can try it.” In case you weren’t sure, that is a HUGE vote of confidence! My husband is picky and previously was very wary of anything new. I once asked him why he’s willing to try things now. His response, “Because I’m allowed to not like it.” Wow. Well, duh? Right? Are people you make food for allowed to not like it? I mean you work hard on some recipes and even when you know it didn’t turn out well, it hurts when kids in their honestly reject an hour or more worth of work after less than a second of tasting. And its worse when its something that you love! My husband and I have found a happy place with food. He’s willing to try anything I put in front of him, and I accept that sometimes he just doesn’t like something. And honestly, because I take into consideration why he doesn’t like certain things, adapt recipes accordingly, it’s not very often that we get a dud.

Now back to the recipe. I’ve made some changes based on what I typically have on hand, as well as what I thought would taste better after following the recipe initially.

The biggest change was I make two pizzas. My husband and I demolish one 14X15 inch pizza, so if I’m just feeding us I cook one pizza and freeze the other, otherwise I bake both.

This recipe can be vegetarian if you want, but we use seasoned taco beef. If you’re going to use meat, decide what kind and pre make it. If you want ground beef (what I show in this recipe), you’ll need between 1/2 lb to 3/4 lb of meat for two pizzas. I use a taco seasoning packet and toss in a little salsa when I cook it. You can also use seasoned shredded pork, chicken or beef.

You’ll need two par baked pizza crusts. I explain how to par bake a crust at the end of my Pizza Crust Revisited post, which also tells how to use a food processor to  make  the dough. For the original by hand recipe read my Pizza! post. Alternatively you can buy pizza crusts from the store, or by dough and par bake it yourself.

After you have that part prepped and read to go, we move onto making the “sauce” for this pizza. Sauce was in quotes because it’s actually a seasoned black bean paste. I use my food processor to make it, but you can also use a blender or fork and arm power.

Take a can of black beans and rinse and drain the beans. I just like to get all the weird gluppy stuff off my beans so they are like I made them myself. Alternatively you can just use dried beans that you’ve already cooked.

IMG_20141029_160733189

Add the beans to your food processor (use the sharp blade). Add 3 chipotle peppers from the  Chipotle Peppers in Adobo sauce. Also add a tablespoon of olive oil.

IMG_20141029_160959845

Add a teaspoon of minced garlic. I buy the jar of pre-minced garlic. Easier for me to use than trying to keep fresh garlic on hand.

IMG_20141029_161043141

Add the cumin, salt and chili powder.

IMG_20141029_161311972

Blend until smooth. You may need to occasionally open the lid and scrape the sides. I like the mixture fairly smooth, but if you prefer chunky then adjust your blend time accordingly.

IMG_20141029_161455742

I like to put my pizza crusts on parchment paper, so that when I can move it more easily to the oven. Convenient, but not necessary. Which reminds me preheat your oven to 450F. If you want to use a pizza stone, put it in the oven while its preheating. Take that can of Chipotle Peppers in Adobo sauce, and scoop out a spoonful or so of the sauce. Spread it very thinly on each pizza crust. It can be spicy so take that into consideration when you spread it.

IMG_20141029_161822104

Spread half of the black bean paste on each pizza.

IMG_20141029_162328575_HDR

For each pizza spread either a diced tomato or (as I did) a drained can of petite diced tomatoes. In this picture it was normal diced tomatoes that I chopped to make smaller (because I accidentally bought the wrong type. My family hates the huge chunky tomatoes, petite diced are our friend).

IMG_20141029_163257690

Sprinkle about a cup of frozen corn (no need to thaw) on each pizza. You can adjust the amount to your preference. We enjoyed the slightly sweet taste the corn added. You can also use canned corn if that is what you have on hand. We don’t judge here. Which by the way if you love onion feel free to dice some up and toss it on. We aren’t huge onion fans and so omitted it.

IMG_20141029_163514470_HDR

Sprinkle cheese on pizza to taste. I used here cheddar and what was left of my cheddar jack mix.

IMG_20141029_163738414

If using meat spread that on now.

IMG_20141029_165429282_HDR

Okay, if you want to freeze one pizza, wrap it in plastic wrap, and then in aluminum foil and put in your freezer. I suggest putting it on a cookie sheet or something flat. One time someone accidentally knocked over a pizza I was trying to freeze in our deep freeze. My pizza looked like it was doing the wave by the time I found it. Very frustrating.

IMG_20141029_170804065

Take your other pizza (or both) and bake them at 450F for about 12-18 minutes or until the cheese is melted/cooked to your preference and all the toppings feel heated through.

IMG_20141029_200711412

I forgot to photograph the cooked pizza until all that was left was 4 small slices, so here is your glimpse at the cooked pizza. The frozen pizza can be unwrapped and baked at 450 for 18-25 minutes or until cooked through. I’m not positive on the cooking time as I usually forget to set a timer and just cook until it looks done. So don’t be afraid if it takes more (or less) time.

Southwestern Black Bean Pizza

makes 2 pizzas

Ingredients

  • 2 par baked pizza crusts
  • 1 16oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, plus 2-3tbsp of sauce from can
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 2 16oz can of petite diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1-2 cups of frozen corn (or 1-2 cans of corn)
  • 2 cups of shredded cheese (cheddar or other mix)
  • 1/2 lb- 1lb ground beef, cooked and seasoned or other seasoned meat (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450F and put in pizza stone if using.
  2. Add black beans, 3 chipotle peppers, olive oil, minced garlic, chili powder, salt and cumin to food processor. Process until it is a mostly smooth paste. You may need to scrape down sides while blending.
  3. Thinly spread sauce (from chipotle pepper in adobo sauce can) over pizza crusts. It is spicy so add more or less to taste.
  4. Spread black bean paste over pizza crusts (half of mixture per pizza).
  5. Sprinkle on petite diced tomatoes (one can per pizza).
  6. Sprinkle on frozen corn (1/2 to 1 cup per pizza).
  7. Sprinkle on shredded cheese.
  8. Add ground beef (or other meat) if using.
  9. Bake pizza at 450F for 12-15 minutes or until cheese is melted and toppings heated through.

If freezing one pizza, wrap in plastic wrap then foil BEFORE baking. Freeze on a cookie sheet or pizza pan. To cook, unwrap pizza and bake at 450F for 18-25 minutes or until cheese is melted and pizza heated through.

Leave a Reply

