Peanut Butter Drop Cookies

Cooking has become one of my favorite things to do–except when I don’t want to. What I love most about it is that it brings people together. When I cook a some kind of dinner or snack for my family we all connect over the food. When we all work together to make food, we build bonds and memories. To show someone how much we care, or love, or are concerned we bring them food. All those things I’ve know for a long time: from my cookie or muffin ditches, to friends coming together at a potluck, to friends/family working together in a kitchen.

But recently, I’ve been thinking about dying, and legacies. My parents, and my grandparents are getting older. And it’s becoming clear that the warranty on their bodies is up. Now I don’t want to sound glum or gloomy, but I think of all the fond memories I have of cooking with them, or simply eating the foods they made.

I’ve been reading the family cookbook, which includes the memories of my aunts, uncles and grandparents about their parents or relatives many of whom are now long gone. I’ve laughed and smiled reading their comments. Everytime I make a recipe from there, especially when I see my grandmother’s name, Gertrude, I feel a connection to those who have made the food before me. It’s a legacy of memories, of old memories and ones yet to be made, and a legacy of delicious food.

It’s been a long time since I’ve made Peanut Butter Cookies of any kind. Yet, I’m generally surrounded by people who love them: my hubby being a prime lover of PB anything. This cookies, so far anyway seems to make a softer and milder peanut butter cookie. The dough/batter tastes like nutter butters, but the cookies themselves don’t have as strong of a flavor.

All I’m missing in this photo is the flour, understandable though because I store my flour in 6 gallon buckets. I decided to be a little different with my flour this time around and do 1 cup whole wheat flour, and 1 1/2 cups of all purpose. Oh, and you will be using the entire stick of butter.

Using a electric mixer, or awesome arm strength cream the butter, peanut butter and vanilla together. If using an electric mixer you’ll want medium speed.

Gradually add the sugar and honey. The batter for the next few steps is just generally going to be a bit sticky, but not to thick.

It’s going to be important to mix the first sets of ingredients very well  because once you add flour and baking soda, you just barely mix until the ingredients are blended. Next you’ll add the eggs, one at a time and beating well after each one. I love how the batter is almost fluffy at this point. Just a very wet fluffy.

I know many people find sifting to be boring, frustrating, just one more dish to wash, etc., however I really enjoy sifting. It’s fun to shake my flour and baking soda into the bowl instead of just dumping it. But to each his own. I’m sure the recipe would be forgiving if you use the traditional dump method. However, be careful that the baking soda doesn’t clump when you mix it in if you don’t sift. Clumps of salty soda in cookies is never tasty.

Remember once you add the flour, if you’re still using the electric mixer you’ll want to drop to low speed, and stop as soon as the ingredients are combined.

Grandma’s recipe says to “Drop teaspoonfuls onto cookie sheets.” I used my fun mini cookie scoop thingie. Still don’t know what its called or how much it actually measures out. Of course as I tend to make it heaping, I suppose it doesn’t matter too much.

The cookies don’t spread out too much, so if they’re a little closer together it won’t hurt. Bake at 375F for 10-12 minutes and you’ll get beautiful cookies. My first batch I cooked for 15 (or was it 17?) minutes, but it was on a cold stone, so that had to heat up. The second time took me only 12 minutes, it was a beautiful golden color.

Peanut Butter Drop Cookies

makes about 50 2- 3 inch cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups sifted flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375F.
  2. Cream the peanut butter, butter and vanilla together using an electric mixer on medium speed.
  3. Continue beating while gradually add sugar and honey.
  4. Add eggs, one at a time. Beat well after each addition.
  5. Add the flour and baking soda, sifted together. Mix in on low speed until just blended.
  6. Drop onto a greased cookie sheet in about teaspoonful amounts.
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. The cookies will be soft, so let cool slightly on cookie sheet before moving to cooling racks.
  8. Eat cookies.

 

Leave a Reply

