Fruit Cream Mini Muffins

Some days, while the kids are eating breakfast, I sit and do a little bit of light reading: cookbooks. I was in the mood to bake, and needed to make some after chore snacks for the kids. At the suggestion of my husband, who wasn’t to sure about my strange desire to make cake, I decided on muffins. I know, not very original. I think I’ve done at least 5 different kinds of mini muffins for these kids. They might need to stop thinking of it as “Beka’s Snack” and instead read it as “Beka’s Muffins.”

The good old family cookbook was full of muffin recipes, but the one that called to my most was  a Blueberry Cream Muffin. Why did it call to me? Because it uses sour cream. And I had a quart of plain yogurt that needed to be used. Because, yes, plain yogurt can be interchanged with sour cream in many recipes. This was ideal, because I had made 3 quarts of homemade yogurt last week and because I got a bit of a stomach flu type thing, I couldn’t convince myself to eat the yogurt all last week. I’m eating it now, but yogurt only last so long.

Now, I had just bought a box of blueberry muffin mix that I wanted to have this weekend or some other time later this month. Hence, making homemade blueberry muffins weren’t going to work. Instead, I made Peach Cream Mini Muffins. Not as exciting as I thought it would be, but honestly I think because 2 cups of fruit isn’t enough for this recipe.

In some ways I was a bit surprised by the number of ingredients, but most of them are typically in your pantry, except the sour cream and potentially whatever fruit you want. I forgot to add the flour and eggs to the ingredient photo. This recipe uses 4 eggs.

About those 4 eggs, the first thing you need to do is to beat them, and beat them well. Then, you add the sugars (I did half brown and half white), vanilla and oil. This recipe calls for a ton of oil. I was a little startled. One suggestion is to replace part or all of the oil with applesauce. I did about half oil and half applesauce. But that was because I only had cinnamon applesauce, and that tends to have a lot of extra sweeteners in it. Had I noticed the amount of oil earlier I might have cut back on the sugars to compensate for the applesauce. And to be honest, cutting back on the oil might not be a bad idea in general: dropping it to 3/4 cup or 1/2 cup.

Then, in a separate bowl you combine the dry ingredients: flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder. Many times I’m a bit lazy about the whole “separate bowl” thing. After all why should I clean one more dish? In this case, because you alternate in the flour mixture and the sour cream/homemade yogurt it’s a good idea to get a separate bowl. Now, about this flour, it calls for 4 cups of flour. I paused at reading this and looked at the recipe yield: 1 dozen. I had a hard time believing that it only made 1 dozen muffins. However, I proceeded with faith and because I already started mixing the ingredients. No going back now!

Add in the flour mixture and sour cream alternating between the two. First the flour. . .

Then the sour cream/ yogurt. . .

Once that is all mixed together, you stir in or fold in your 2 cups of fruit. I diced up some peach slices and used that. Though, when you see the mass amount of batter, you’ll probably agree that 2 cups isn’t enough. I would use at least 3 cups.

I baked the muffins for about 10 minutes at 400F in my. . .preheated oven. When will I remember to preheat my oven?  The muffins are done when the edges start to get golden and the top bounces back when lightly tapped.

Now, remember my suspicion about the recipe making more muffins? Typically, a muffin recipe that makes 1 dozen muffins, in a normal muffin tin, make about 48 mini muffins. This recipe made 90. What am I to do with 90 mini muffins?! Time to offer mini muffins for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack time!

Another note about this recipe, it is a very tasty muffin base. I can imagine how delightful it would be with blueberries, or cinnamon apple, or whatever other fruit or chocolate bit you want to toss in. Aside from the massive amount it makes, (not quite 2 dozen muffins, or 90  mini muffins) it might be my next “anything goes muffin.”

 

Fruit Cream Mini Muffin

about 90 mini muffins, or just under 2 dozen muffin

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup oil (or applesauce)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups plain yogurt or sour cream
  • 2-4 cups fruit (you can use blueberries, diced peaches, diced apples, raspberries, or diced pears, etc)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In a large bowl beat the eggs.
  3. Add sugar, oil and vanilla. Mix well.
  4. In a second bowl combine dry ingredients.
  5. Alternate adding dry ingredients and yogurt/sour cream to the egg mixture.
  6. Fold in fruit.
  7. Bake in greased mini muffin tin for about 10 minutes or until golden on the edges, and the top springs back when touched.

For full size muffins: Bake 20 minutes at 400F.

Leave a Reply

