Chocolate Chip Banana Mini Muffins

At our house, in order to keep the stomachs of the children satisfied until dinner (lest we become tormented by whining about how huuuuungry they are, no matter that dinner is in 5 minutes, they’ll surely die without a snack now), we have After School snacks (they tend to be relatively healthy), After Chore snacks (not as healthy, but yummy and great motivation to finish their chores), and Paid snacks (things like pudding, or fruit gummies or chips that if they want to eat they have to work for it and pay us for it). I started sprucing up our after chore snack with “Beka’s snack”. It varies week to week, sometimes day to day from things like homemade popsicles, to mini muffins, homemade donuts, caramel corn. . . I think you get the gist.

This recipe comes from the holy Family Cookbook, and it carried the subtitle ” A great way to use up those bananas the kids had to have but didn’t eat. . .” How true! Now, about those bananas. I’ve gotten into the habit of peeling and freezing bananas at different stages of ripeness. The “perfectly ripe” I freeze for smoothies, the “slightly sweeter” for shakes and “wait, when did we buy those?” for the banana breads, muffins, pancakes, etc. For the shakes and smoothies, just pop them in the blender frozen. For baked goods, thaw and mash (sometimes the microwave is a thaw-er’s best friend).

The original recipe was for 12 muffins, but. . . then they’re gone fast and K2, our 6 year-old, as much as I love her, has trouble finishing what she started. Which is why I find half eaten bowls of goldfish, string cheese, chips, etc lying around the house. I refuse to let the magical muffins suffer a similar fate. So I made them mini- now instead of 12 partially eaten muffins, I have 48 (if we count the ones I ate before the kids got home) mini muffins!

The muffins call for mini chocolate chips, however I don’t usually have them on hand- instead I bag bigger bags from Costco. My wonderful food processor in a couple minutes chops up the large chocolate chips, into varying sized chocolate bits and chocolate dust. and the chocolate dust really spread into the muffin, giving a light chocolate throughout. Considering the number of food blogs I read, I though I would never make the typical mistake of forgetting an ingredient in the ingredient photo. . . I forgot milk, but it makes a cameo appearance in a later photo! See my bananas still frosty?

In a medium bowl you’ll need to combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. It’s not a ton so don’t waste on of your huge bowls–that means more to clean later.

Then add the milk, vegetable oil, and egg. make sure to slightly beat the egg. I usually crack it open into my 1 cup measuring cup, and use my mixing fork to beat it there. You’ll need to mix until it’s just blended.

After that is pretty simple, you just stir in the bananas and mini chocolate chips. I did them at the same time, but in the past I’ve done banana, then chips.

Then GREASE or use paper lining for your muffin tins. I’ve made the mistake of assuming nonstick means. . . NONstick. Grease it or you’ll have a lot of mutilated muffins to eat because you violently attacked the muffins with a butter knife after the first four wouldn’t release. Admit it, we’ve all done it before. Just remember to grease it. I usually just spray with nonstick spray or if I don’t have that use crisco shortening. I generally prefer greasing to the muffin liners, especially with mini muffins, because sometimes it feels like you get more paper than muffin.

You’ll need to fill the muffin tins about 2/3 to 3/4 full. I have this nifty small cookie scooper that I ironically hate using for cookies, but it’s the perfect amount for mini muffins.

It takes about 10 minutes to bake, the edges will be golden (not the top so much), and the muffins will bounce back when lightly touched.

I usually take the muffins out of the tin asap and cool the muffins on a cooling rack, so I can get the next batch in the oven. And just remember if the kids ask how many it makes, just tell them 40. . . or 30. . .

 

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

makes 48 mini muffins or 12 regular muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup of unsifted flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 egg slightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 to 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400F
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Add egg, milk, and oil. Stir just until blended.
  4. Mix in mini chips and mashed bananas.
  5. Fill  greased or paper lined mini muffin cups 2/3 to 3/4 full.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes.

* For regular muffins, fill the tins 2/3 full. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

One response to “Chocolate Chip Banana Mini Muffins

  1. Pingback: SHC: Daily Schedule | Mischief, Mishaps, and Misadventures·

Leave a Reply

