Black Bean Whole Wheat Bread

~*~

I hate beans. An honest to goodness can’t stand the taste texture or anything about them. Disgusting. My mom always  made chili with kidney beans: I would take the sauce to dip my cheez-its in but heaven forbid I eat a single bean.

Well, sort of.

In 2008 or 2007 I was introduced to a chili with pinto beans eaten over fritos. My view began to tentatively change. Maybe, maybe beans aren’t all bad. I still won’t eat baked beans, but my bean repertoire has expanded to include pinto, black bean, great northern, and a couple other random beans, and lentils just for kicks. Beans are also cheap. Very cheap: and if you’re willing to spend a lil extra time in prep, you can get dried beans for cheaper (and healthier). So my mission (after buying a modest though surprisingly lasting amount of dried beans) was to find new and creative ways to use them. My favorites have been my black bean chocolate pie and pinto bean spice pie, and the recipe for today: Black Bean Whole Wheat Bread.

The original recipe I got from the Idaho Bean Commission (weird that there’s such a thing eh?) for a “Pinto Bean Bread.” If you want to find the original recipe search their recipes under “Snacks and Appetizers” for the Pinto bean Bread. Now this was my second pinto bean bread recipe- the first one tasted so bland I was scared to use pinto beans in this one (that and I had black beans I need to use). Now don’t get me wrong, if you want a light fluffy soft with a huge rise, the first recipe is the way to go, even though as far as bread goes it’s pretty bland. This whole wheat black bean bread is going to be a heavier, denser but a moist and full bread.

Black Bean Bread

makes 2 loaves

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp yeast
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 2 cups of black beans, pureed Ah yes, no I begin my confessions. When I made the bread this time I used 2 can of beans, one can of black beans and one can of white beans (it’s what we had on hand). So about 3 cups of beans, which are then pureed using my new favorite method: food processor. For those lacking that tool, a hand mixer, or vigorous angry fork will suffice, though it takes more time. A blender can also work, though it’s a pain to clean out.
  • 2-3 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 4 cup whole wheat flour (I used 5 cups this time)
  • 2 – 2 1/2 cup all purpose flour

Directions

  1. Soften yeast in water.
  2. In a large (emphasis on large) bowl combine beans, honey, oil, and salt. Mix well.
  3. Add water and yeast mixture.
  4. Add 3 cups of the whole wheat flour. Mix well.
  5. Continue adding remainder of whole wheat flour and all purpose flour one cup at a time until you have a stiff dough that is moist to the touch.
  6. Knead dough about 10 minutes on a floured surface. It should have a smooth satiny texture when done.
  7. Let rest about 10 minutes on table, cover with a tea towel or the mixing bowl.
  8. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  9. Shape dough into two loaves and place in a greased loaf pans.
  10. Let rise, covered, until doubled. This dough rises fairly quickly.  Something important to note is that the bread doesn’t rise much (read: at all) in the oven. So the height you have when you put it in the oven is the height you’ll have when you take it out.
  11. Bake for about 45 minutes. (I actually forgot I put the bread in the oven and don’t know how long it baked ^_^*). It should sound hollow when knocked and have a pretty golden color.

Now is time to slice and eat it. I’ve also made rolls from this dough and had it with sloppy joes. It’s a good hearty, protein rich bread. I hope you enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Black Bean Whole Wheat Bread

  1. Wow I just had a taste of this amazing bread. So so good. I changed up the recipe a bit by using two cups of black beans and one cup of chick peas. My husband loves it and will be making this one again. 😉

Leave a Reply

