Oat Fruit Bars

I found this recipe back when I did most of the cooking for my apartment. I wanted a way to save money, and so I went through the premade food we bought and tried to find substitute recipes. This one was supposed to be a substitute for nutri-grain bars. The original recipe was Almost Nutri-Grain Bars on a blog that looks interesting, though I’ve never actually perused it much. Because in some ways I find this recipe not quite like nutri-grain bars, and in other ways much more delicious and healthy.

I’m not sure what else to say right now, just that I find it quite yummy–and I know because I’m munching on one right now.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups of rolled oats: Old fashioned or instant oats works. I’ve used both at different times.
  • 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour: If you have whole wheat flour, use it. This recipe really makes it delightful and the whole wheat flour adds that extra bit of nutrition.
  • 2/3 cup of brown sugar: Ooo, this time around I had an extra dark brown sugar and It really popped the flavor. If you know anything about substituting molasses into these things let me know. I think it rounds of the flavor and perks it up wonderfully.
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup of juice: I use whatever I have on hand, apple juice cranberry juice, Apple & Eve Fruitables. . . you get the idea.
  • fruit: Okay, I know just saying fruit was vague, but ya. The original recipe calls for 10 ounces of jam and a tbsp of water, which I’ve never done. I’ve used  3 or so pears in a blender with apple butter or strawberries and kiwi. I’ve blended up blueberries etc. This time around I took about 4-5 medium/small apples and used my food processor to itty bitty mince it (then I tossed it with some cinnamon and a bit of nutmeg and mace). Basically get some kind of sauce or minced fruit.

Directions

  1. Mix the oats, flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.
  2. Add the oil, egg, vanilla and juice. Using either a hand mixer, or a fork with your own power, thoroughly mix it.
  3. Press 2/3 of the mix into a greased 9X13 pan.
  4. Spread whatever fruit you’ve prepared over the mix.
  5. Crumble the remaining mix over the fruit.
  6. Bake at 325 for 40-50 minutes.
  7. Now let it cool before cutting and serving. While it is decently yummy hot it is best after it has cooled down and had a chance for the flavors to meld together. You can then cut them into individual bars, wrap and freeze them, or you can just refrigerate them. They can be eating a couple minutes out of the freezer, but i like em better a couple minutes out of the fridge: still chill but tasty.
Leave a Reply

