Pumpkin Pie

Here is one of the pies I was in charge of for Thanksgiving. Also made were  the apple pie and cherry supreme pie. Let’s be honest you’re prolly all wondering why I’ve been a lazy bum and haven’t posted anything since Thanksgiving… ummm… well… I like pie.

This is my great grandma Warner’s recipe, which I simply adore, and quite frankly no other pumpkin pie holds up next to it. Just remember if you want to double the recipe… remember to double the spices. Crazy right? Me forget to double the spices? She-who-over-spices-everything? Why yes… so my delicious, earth shattering, pumpkin pie (you know the type that redefines pumpkin pie) was a bit (I cringe to say this) bland. But! Just because I failed to execute a recipe I’ve done hundreds of times before (okay only a couple times), does not mean that you too will fail. Rather remember to not read stories or watch movies while baking.

Now back to pumpkin pie. This is a very simple recipe, that I’ve also adapted for a Sweet Spice Pinto Bean Pie. Yes, a recipe, which I have not posted yet, because I want to edit it more, and try it with my new food processor… (did you just giggle a little evilly when I said food processor? No, oh that must have been me ^_^*). Well here you go, a time tested classic.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups pumpkin: This is one of the larger cans of pumpkin (forgive me for not remembering the oz), but you can get the pumpkin however you prefer. Fresh or canned.. well mebbe not fresh, but you know what I mean I’m sure.
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar: As always i favor the darkest of dark brown sugar. the molasses flavor really rounds out this pie.
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon: Feel free to be generous with the spices, but caution in any recipe with cloves and nutmeg which can overpower easily. If in doubt stick with these measurements.
  • 1/2 tsp mace
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs, beaten: Yes, take the time to beat them. I know many people ignore this step, but just do it. It’s important.
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 pie crust: This recipe can make up to a 10  inch pie from what I’ve heard.

Directions

  1. Mix ingredients. Obviously not the pie crust that would be silly. It should be the consistency of a thick soup or runny pancake batter.
  2. Pour into prepared crust. Do not pre-bake the crust. And don’t worry if there is left over filling. You most definitely will have leftover. Don’t overfill. . . smoke alarms for the next 10 meals you make sucks.
  3. Bake at 450 degrees for 20 minutes.
  4. Reduce heat to 350 degrees and continue cooking for 40 minutes. I hope you read ahead and noticed this step, because to be honest it’s always a bit embarrassing when you see burnt pumpkin pie and the smoke detector is going off. . . not that I have first hand experience in that. . .
  5. So the pie is complete and done well mostly when a  knife poked in the center comes out clean. I’ve personally never liked hot pumpkin pie. . . or warm pumpkin pie, so I recommend letting it cool completely and refrigerating it. Then serve cool with cool whip or whipped cream or whatever else tickles your fancy.
Leave a Reply

