Beef or Chicken Noodle Casserole

 

Yumminess

Oh no! There’s a potluck and I have no clue what to bring. I scrounge through my food stores, look at what leftovers I have in the fridge, and worry my lip while I think. I have some beef left over from my pot roast–maybe I could make a noodles and beef with gravy kind of thing. Except I’m not sure how to make gravy and I’m pretty sure I don’t have the ingredients. Noodles and beef. Noodle and beef. Then an idea comes to me, though I worry whether it’s a good idea or one I should decide against: Beef Noodle Casserole. Like my mom’s Chicken Noodle Casserole

. After conferring with my roommate I come up with a way to edit the original recipe that would still taste delicious. And mind you… it’s not that large of an edit.

So here we go:

Ingredients:

  • 1 12oz package of egg noodles: the wavy wide kind is best
  • about 1 cup of leftover beef, shredded
  • 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup
  • milk, 2 soup cans worth
  • about 3/4 to 1 cup of peas or broccoli: I’ve generally use frozen
  • about 1 cup of shredded cheese: I used a mixture of sharp cheddar and some leftover mozzarella.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Bring water to boil. Add noodles and cook for about 6 minutes. It will be slightly undercooked.
  3. Meanwhile, mix beef, soup, milk, vegetable and cheese in a large bowl.
  4. Add noodles and mix together well.
  5. Spread into a large casserole dish or 9X13 pan.
  6. Bake for 35-40 minutes covered. Last 5-10 minutes remove cover in order to let the top crisp/brown slightly.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Chicken Noodle Casserole

Ingredients

  • 1 12 oz package of egg noodles
  • 1 large can of chicken or about of cup of cooked and cubed chicken
  • 1 can of cream of chicken
  • 1 can cream of cheddar
  • 2 soup cans worth of milk
  • about 1 cup of peas or broccoli
  • about 1 cup of shredded cheese or torn american cheese

Directions

Same directions as for beef noodle casserole.

 

TIP!: Don’t have the cream of — soups? Make up some White Sauce and season it with garlic or onion, or whatever other spices you desire.

4 responses to “Beef or Chicken Noodle Casserole

  1. I now know exactly what to make for dinner at the French house next time….. Seriously, if I could just reach through this computer screen your casserole would be SO gone.

  2. Pingback: Time saver: Precooking Ground Meat | Mischief, Mishaps, and Misadventures·

Leave a Reply

