Pot Roast

*hums with pleasure* I just went to the thrift store and found a crock pot, that reminded me of my mum’s original crock pot. I’m uber excited to now be bringing in the good old fashioned slow cooker recipes. So to start with I must say, nothing makes me think of home like a good old pot roast. In my home Sunday dinner with a pot roast was always my favorite. My mom would either cook the potatoes and vegetables in the crock pot with the roast, or make mashed potatoes and egg noodles in gravy (with a veggie side). I remember even asking for it for my birthday. Since leaving home I’ve only had three opportunities to make a pot roast, twice with pork, once with beef: meat being much more expensive than I can justify). There are so many amazing recipes out there for a Sunday roast, but the one I’m going to give is a simple toss together meal in a crock pot. The ingredients are a bit flexible, dependent upon your preferences, the size of the roast, the crock pot and the crowd. Then, of course, left over meat can be used for sandwiches, in a stir-fry, mixed with noodles, or made into a shredded barbecue beef/pork. Feel free to be flexible, try what works for you and look around.

At the end I’ve included another pot roast recipe, where the roast is a bit sweeter.

Ingredients

  • roast : I’ll be honest, I know nothing about picking a roast. It seems to be a game of luck with me, worse than russian roulette. However, choose a roast that suits your needs, call your mum, ask the butcher etc as to what would make a good crock pot roast. Crock pots are forgiving and can even make less than ideal meats delicious. You can use pork or beef, or I suppose any other “roast” esque meat. not sure about chicken, but I suppose so.
  • potatoes, chopped into large chunks: Quantity is tricky. When in doubt one small/medium potato per person. Be aware of how much room you have in your crock pot, don’t over load it.
  • chopped vegetables: I recommend carrots, celery (2-3 ribs), onions (1 medium/large unless your family really likes then). I suppose frozen green beans or such would be appetizing as well.
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 envelope of Lipton Onion recipe soup & dip mix: Clearly this can be an off brand, it’s just easier to mention the name brand. It’s usually found in a box with 3 envelopes in it, and off brand of “onion soup mixes” are always available.
  • seasonings: My housemate recommends 2 bay leaves, I suggest pepper and mebbe garlic. If you’re not sure go ahead and leave out any additional seasoning and play with it the next time you make a roast.

Directions

  1. Spray/grease the crock pot. This isn’t precisely necessary, but it can be useful.
  2. Spread a small layer of the chopped vegetables on the bottom of the crockpot. Place roast on top.
  3. Surround roast with potatoes and remaining vegetables.
  4. Dump diced tomatoes over everything.
  5. Pour cream of mushroom soup over everything (or rather spoon out over everything). Then using the can fill it with water (swish around a bit) and pour over everything.
  6. Sprinkle soup mix over all. Add any seasonings.
  7. Cover and cook over high heat for 4-6 hours or low heat 6-10 hours. Check the roast to make sure it is cooked through before eating. If it is done, but you aren’t ready, you can always turn the crock pot to warm/low and let sit longer while you finish preparing the meal.

 

Of course, I wrote this up last night, so I could take pictures today… however I forgot. We ate joyfully. We munched yummily, and packed away what little leftovers we had, and I forgot to take out my camera–so obsessed I was with the delicious smells of roast beef that were wafting through the house.

I hope you each enjoy this simple meal. You can prep the vegetable the night before, if you pre-chop the potatoes leave on the counter covered with room temperature water. I was able to quickly dump everything before my shower and heading up to work. Then upon arriving home, meal complete and ready for guests.

Irish Pot Roast

Here, the roast is a bit sweeter. I enjoyed it when I made it, though I think a delicious dinner rolls would have gone well with it. I received the recipe from The Bee Folks mailing list. I checked their website, but the recipe isn’t listed there, but it is definitely worth sharing. Here is what I received exactly:

“This recipe fits the bill!  Searing the roast prior to cooking keeps the meat moist, and the sweetness of the honey complements the robustness of the Irish ale.

We favor a crockpot – toss everything in the pot, and forget about it until it is done!  If you do not have a crockpot, you can also cook the roast at 375 in the oven for about 2 1/2 hours, or until the meat is tender and falls apart.

Irish Pot Roast

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 pot roast
  • 2 Tbsp oil
  • 8 cups vegetables (carrots, potatoes, leeks, onions, parsnips)
  • 2 cups beef broth (or 1 14-oz can)
  • 1 cup Irish ale or apple cider
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  1. Combine flour, salt, and pepper.
  2. Dredge roast in flour mixture.  Save remaining flour mixture for gravy.
  3. Heat oil in large skillet or frying pan, and sear roast on all sides.
  4. Place items in crockpot, with vegetables, ale, and beef broth on the bottom, then meat, then honey, then onions, garlic, and thyme.
  5. Cook on low for 8-10 hours.
  6. For gravy: Mix water and reserved flour in bowl.  Add to juices from crockpot in a skillet or saucepan.  Cook on medium-high heat until thick and bubbly. “
One response to “Pot Roast

  1. Pingback: Reinventing Leftovers: Mashed Potato Patties « Mischief, Mishaps, and Misadventures·

Leave a Reply

