Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

I feel like a bit of a putz giving such a pathetic cop out fried rice recipe. I should be honest about why mine didn’t turn out as well as it used to. Quite frankly I stopped making fried rice because I fell in love with Stir Fry, a particular stir-fry recipe.  For some reason out in Utah I had a stream of bad luck with my fried rice. I couldn’t get the right balance anymore. again, being honest it’s because my one roommate had left: while she was there I trusted her rice abilities, and let her govern the fried rice. She had this magic touch, knew the right amount of soy sauce, how to quickly and perfectly cook her delicious mouth watering jasmine rice. I tended to just get rice mush in Utah.

So one day, after she had left, my despairing stomach went in search of a fried rice recipe that could redeem the pathetic attempts I’d had in the dry climate. While thus searching, I came across a promising website: http://www.chickenstirfryrecipe.com/ And there featured on it’s front page was a recipe for Garlic Chicken Stir Fry . I was familiar with the ingredients, in fact it sounded much like what I like to use for my fried rice, it was simple, and just sounded simply mouthwatering. I of course made a couple changes, and have since used it’s concept (I even measure the ingredients!) of making a sauce in the vegetables as basis for every Stir-Fry. Then I could pour it over rice, or mix the rice in, or pour it over(or mix it into) some Asian noodle, like sweet potato noodles (made from sweet potato starch. They make a long beautiful almost crystal looking translucent noodle). When I’ve lacked in time and ingredients I’ve also used egg noodles or spaghetti instead of rice.

Directions

  • 2 tablespoons of oil: The original recipe (“OR”) calls for peanut oil but I’ve used canola or olive.
  • powdered garlic: Or cloves of garlic, as the “OR” called for
  • powdered ginger
  • 1 bunch of green onions, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into strips: The recipe calls for 1 pound, I usually use 1-2 chicken breasts. Canned chicken will not work as well, but is feasible.
  • 1 onion thinly sliced or chopped
  • 1 cup cabbage thinly sliced
  • 1/2 – 1 bell pepper: Any color will work, but red adds a nice pop
  • 1-2 cups of sugar snap peas: I usually cut then in half or thirds
  • other vegetables: I have also used carrots and celery, or frozen peas instead of snap peas. Water chestnuts, zucchini or yellow squash may also work.
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons of soy sauce: dark mushroom works best, though others will suffice
  • 2 tablespoons of white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of corn starch

Directions

  1. Mix 1/2 cup of broth, soy sauce, sugar, and corn starch in a small bowl. Set aside until step 5.
  2. Heat oil in a wok or large frying pan, then add green onions, salt,  garlic and ginger (a healthy sprinkling of both powders OR fresh grated ginger root and minced garlic cloves). Saute until translucent. Do this over medium heat, it is too easy to burn over high heat.
  3. Add chicken and stir-fry about 3 minutes or until cooked through.
  4. Add all vegetables, but reserve half of the cabbage (if you are using zucchini or squash reserve half as well), cook for 2-4 minutes. Add remain cabbage and 1/2 cup of chicken broth.
  5. Stir the cornstarch mixture then add to the frying pan. Continue to stir-fry until the vegetables are coated with a thickened sauce (the sauce thickens as you cook it).
  6. Enjoy! This can be done by serving with rice, noodles, or adding either to the pan and stirring to coat.

Sorry, no picture, but it’s delicious! Using the mixture in step 1 you can really go anywhere with this. You can make it with a different meat, with tofu as a substitute, or just ommitting it. Change up what vegetables you use based on what’s on hand. Also serve with any variety of grains.

Leave a Reply

