Anything Goes Muffins

***

I remember early morning seminary. For those who don’t know what that is, my church has high school students attend “seminary” where we study the scriptures. Where I lived we did early morning seminary: which meant we got up to attend class (which began between 5:45am and 6:00am), then rushed to catch our buses for school afterwords.

One year, a parent of one of the students brought muffins every Friday. With the same muffin recipe, we would have pumpkin muffins, blueberry muffins, apple streusel muffins, and much much more. I am eternal grateful to her for getting up each Friday morning to bake the delectable treats. Entering the seminary room was a delight because the scent of muffins had already permeated every corner, delicious fresh, still warm muffins.  I still drool after these muffins. When I got to college I was able to get a hold of the muffin recipe, which is so aptly called  “Anything Goes Muffins.”

Now I’ll admit this latest time that I made the recipe, specifically for the blog, I accidentally added 1/3 cup extra flour AND forgot to set the timer. Which meant that they were a little dry. BUT! Still delicious!

Oh ya, I apologize for the delay in getting this up. I’ve been in MD since 7/31 trying to catch up with people before I continue on to my internship.

***

.

makes 12 muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour: Usually a mixture of 1 cup all purpose and 1 cup whole wheat make a delicious muffin. But you can use just all purpose. IF you are familiar with using whole wheat flour go ahead and use that as well.
  • 1/2 cup sugar: Brown or white sugar works, but my preference is the delicious dark brown sugar.
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • spice: Yes in my typical fashion I have neglected to give you measurements. Most of the flavors listed before work well with 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. But you can use pumpkin pie or apple pie spices, or whatever floats your boat. More or less spice (I usually do more). For blueberry muffins, nutmeg and not cinnamon would be a better flavor.
  • 1 cup of “filling”: This is the anything goes part. You can use shredded zucchini, shredded carrots, applesauce, mashed bananas, blueberries, cooked pumpkin, dice and cooked apples. The world is your muffin!
  • 1 slightly beaten egg
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup oil or melted butter

Directions

  1. Mix dry ingredients together in a bowl.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and stir just enough to moisten. Muffins and other quick bread should not be over mixed.
  3. Spoon into greased (or paper lined) muffin cups.
  4. Bake at 375 for 18-20 minutes. You know it’s done when it has a light golden color on top and it springs back when lightly touched.

Now I mentioned above that she made apple streusel muffins. Here is the streusel topping recipe she gave me:

Streusel Topping:

  • 1/4 c. flour
  • 1/3 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp. firm butter
  1. Mix all ingredients until crumbly.
  2. After filling the muffins cup in Step 3 above, top each muffin with a spoonful of this topping.
  3. Bake as indicated in step 4 above.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a comment