No Bake Cookies

One of the worst things I find is wandering around the kitchen looking for food. I have hardly any prepared food, so for me my snacks involve toast, and uhh toast. Today I was craving something fiercely, but couldn’t for the life of me figure out what it was. Random inspiration: No Bake Cookies! Who can fault that chocolaty oatmeal cookie with peanut butter goodness? It’s sweet, munchy, rationalizable as healthy, and best of all it take mebbe 10 minutes (not including cooling time).

Though, quite frankly, turned out to not be what  I was wanting, but. . . yummy snacks are still yummy snacks.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar: I’ve come to use 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar most of the time. I have also used 1 cup honey and 1 cup brown sugar, but it come out with more of a caramel taste. If you’re interested in doing that just increase boiling time.
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 stick of butter or margarine
  • 1/3 cup cocoa: This measurement is totally out of who knows where. I believe the original recipe is 1/4 cup, but I generally just add by sight/taste. If you want it more chocolaty be generous with the cocoa, or be light if you’re not into the intense chocolate flavor
  • 3 to 3 1/2 cup of oatmeal: You can use quick oats, or old fashioned. I used old fashioned because that is what I have on hand, however I believe a mix of the two would probably be the best.
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (optional): I highly, as in HIGHLY, recommend using crunchy peanut butter. Though to be honest about the measurement, I usually just take a large spoonful rather than going through the hassle of measuring it. I absolutely abhor washing measuring cups that had peanut butter in it. It’s disgusting trying to wipe the greasy water logged peanut goo. . .
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla: With my usual attention to measuring detail, I just toss a slash. . . or two. . .or three in. And on occasion, my brilliant self will even forget the vanilla: horror right? Vanilla is amazing nectar of round pleasant flavors.

Directions:

  1. In a pot mix sugar, butter, milk, and cocoa. Since I keep my butter frozen, I usually toss it in the pot to start melting while I gather the rest of my ingredients. Talk about embarrassing when I accidentally wasted a whole stick of butter by burning it while not paying attention. Burnt butter. . .yum. Not.
  2. Bring ingredients to a hard boil over medium high heat. A mere simmer will not suffice, the bubbles need to be roiling and wishing they could escape from the heat of the pot (figuratively speaking of course). I usually let it boil for about a minute while I run to grab the oatmeal and peanut butter I forgot to bring out.
  3. Remove from heat and add remaining ingredients immediately. I recommend not putting the vanilla in first. Once I did and it was like whooosh evaporated vanilla up my nose. Not a pleasant experience despite what one would think.
  4. Mix well (as in not huge chunks of peanut butter), and drop by tablespoon (or mixing spoon) onto wax paper. (Oh ya! Lay out a sheet of wax paper on the table–then put the cookies on it)
  5. Let cool. And let me tell you that is really the hardest part. You stare at them, threaten and beg but no bakes will cool at whatever rate they want to. This often means that I try to eat a still soft cookie and end up with chocolate all over my fingers and face. See: when it cools it hardens and doesn’t try to escape your grasp while eating it.
  6. EAT! And consider sharing. After all your roommates, kids, boyfriend etc will look at you with those puppy dogs eyes begging for just one (read 10) no bake cookie.

Tips or troubleshooting:

One of the most frustrating things is when no bake cookies don’t harden. oh they taste delicious, but are sticky and difficult to eat. There are two solutions: Add more oatmeal OR let the chocolate mixture boil longer. It’s hard to figure out the right balance, but you’ll get it eventually. Which reminds me: if you decided to use honey, I still haven’t found the correct balance to get the honey no bakes to harden properly. But, eh.

 

Don't those just look munchable?

Look at the pretty flowers, aren't we such homemakers in my apartment 🙂

2 responses to “No Bake Cookies

  1. love your blog! found it as I was checking facebook! Read through a bit but then saw this post and thought hmm bbet she made “raggedy robin’s” That’s what my family has always called them and I love them so much!!

    robin

Leave a Reply

